Kinetic Typography

One of the mini projects we have been presented with at Bournemouth University is using Adobe After Effects to experiment with kinetic typography. Kinetic typography refers to the art and technique of expression with animated text. I have seen examples of kinetic typography in the past, most common being lyric music videos and movie dialogue videos, however have not created any pieces of my own. Our task was to create a kinetic typography video using Adobe After Effects, to accompany a snippet of the audio from the Gravity trailer. I was looking forward to using After Effects as I have never previously used it before, and am interested in increasing my basic knowledge on the software and learning new skills.

Some of the examples that I looked at as inspiration for my own attempt include the Oceans Eleven Project.

I also looked at the End Credits Song form Portal, called Still Alive.

 

Leave a Reply

