Processing using camera

Today we looked at how to use The Capture class. The Capture class makes it possible to grab frames of video from an attached capture device such as a camera. This will come in useful when creating my interactive piece, as I will be using a camera to capture the image of the people in the foyer.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 11.25.07

This code allows the camera to grab light and dark pixels, resulting in the screen to change to white when there is bright colours and black when there are dim colours. I have uploaded a video of me using the camera on my laptop to test this, simply by waving my hand in front of the camera to show how it reacts to brightness.

I will use the capture class when producing my final piece, and will also look at ways to make the code compatible with different camera sizes and resolutions.

Leave a Reply

